China Glaze Sweet Hook + Essie Shine of the Times

I am a huge fan of the China Glaze Electropop collection that was released for Spring 2012, and could not resist some of the colors, including Sweet Hook (isn’t that a cool name?). The colors tend to have a certain “day-glo but milder” shading but are still fun and springy.

I layered Sweet Hook with Essie Luxe Effects Shine of the Times. When I first saw Shine of the Times, I thought it was totally boring looking, then I saw it over another color and ended up loving it. Shine of the Times looks great over dark colors, but I almost prefer it on lighter colors like Sweet Hook and Kinetic Candy (which is also from the Electropop collection).

When I first stopped biting my nails and had Shine of the Times on over Kinetic Candy (which is a blue shade), a girl working at Walgreens complimented my nails. This was around the time that I realized my nails were long enough to not hide them with shame if I was purchasing nail polish. I told her I was a ‘reformed biter’ and she told me about a woman who used baby powder to stop chewing. I don’t think I’ll be trying that one!

One more thing: an update on the nail I super glued. It is completely gone now, but the important thing is that I did NOT bite it! I actually ripped it more when I was reaching over to grab a bag in my car. Instead of gluing it again, I just ripped it off. It doesn’t look as bad as I thought it would, but it still a major bummer to lose it after all of that growing!

Leave a Reply

