Sinful Colors Controversy

If you read nail blogs, you have likely heard about this controversy already, but being an English teacher who is always catching acts of plagiarism, I feel the need to address this issue.

To make a long story short, Sinful Colors, who is owned by Revlon, stole images from popular nail bloggers The Swatchaholic and Swatch and Learn. They removed the image watermarks and used these images (both of which do NOT contain Sinful Colors polish!) and used them in promotional pamphlets without their permission, which is a huge copyright violation, not to mention a violation of artistic and professional integrity.

The best write up I have seen on this controversy is on the Frazzle and Aniploish blog. It is well-written and clearly explains the exact violations (which include Sinful Colors stating that Konad stamping art was done with a toothpick!).

While I do love Sinful Colors nail polish, I personally won’t be buying any until this issue is resolved in a way that makes the bloggers happy. To me, this looks like an act of sheer laziness and cheap marketing. To stoop so low as to steal images (my guess is from a Google image search) from nail bloggers and use them for a large company is completely unacceptable. Since Revlon owns Sinful Colors, I sincerely hope that they do something about this besides their stale Facebook apology.

My guess is that one person or a team of people were involved in stealing the images and creating pamphlets with them. I just hope that Sinful Colors and Revlon work together with the bloggers to make this right.

Again, I highly recommend reading this post on the whole ordeal for a bigger picture.

3 thoughts on “Sinful Colors Controversy

  1. Thanks so much for the kind words and the link! I still can’t believe they did this in the first place but have been glad to see Revlon responding to the outcry. (I’ve also been discouraged by the comments on their FB page by people who think stealing images is no big deal but at least the error of their ways is getting pointed out to them by better informed folks.)

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly believe this web site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the information!

Leave a Reply

