Sephora by OPI It’s Real 18K Gold Top Coat

So the big nail trend right now is 18 karat gold top coats. There are several out there; Zoya released one in a boxed set with a black and white polish, OPI released “The Man with the Golden Gun” for the new Bond movie, and Sephora by OPI has “It’s Real: 18k Gold Top Coat.” While these top coats are gorgeous, they are also quite expensive.

I believe Zoya’s was the most affordable until it sold out. Both OPI versions were $30, until people started reported seeing the Sephora by OPI polish for $8 in stores and $15 online. I never would have paid $30 for this, but jumped at the half off price point after not seeing it in any stores near me.

On my first use, I paired It’s Real with Illamasqua Charisma. I like the result, but the application was tricky. I felt like it was very difficult to get the amount of gold out of the bottle that I wanted to put on the nail. I also wish that the gold flakes were not so fine, but instead larger pieces.

Before trying this out, I thought the gold would look like glitter, but it definitely doesn’t. The finished product is very unique and pretty, and perfect for the holidays. I can’t wait to see how this looks with different colors! I’ve seen a lot of blogs pairing this with cobalt blue, but I think my next pairing is going to be with a turquoise shade.

What do you think of these top coats? Mom, I can totally see you wearing this. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Sephora by OPI It’s Real 18K Gold Top Coat

Leave a Reply

