Essence Gel-Look Top Coat Review

gelRhoda does not endorse this top coat!

I was really excited to try the Essence Gel-Look Top Coat, since there are so many “gel” top coats coming out onto the market. At $2.49, this is definitely not a bank breaker, and I have used and enjoyed other products from the brand.

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

This sealing top coat is absolutely essential if you’re looking for long-lasting style. Thanks to its glossy texture with staying power and enhanced shine, it keeps all types of nail decorations in place and provides an extra-shiny finish to make unique styles stand out even more!

Some have touted this as being a dupe for Seche Vite, so let’s cut to the chase: definitely NOT. This top coat is terrible, sad to say. I’m glad I didn’t pay much for it, because I don’t see myself using it ever again! Why? Well, it definitely doesn’t deliver “XXXL shine”, but that isn’t my biggest complaint. This does NOT dry. Ever. Many reviewers have stated that they let this top coat dry for hours, only to go to bed and wake up with sheet marks. I let the top coat sit on my nails over two thin coats of polish and six hours later it was not dry. It was like I just painted my nails ten minutes ago. The finish was also not very shiny; it was just average.

This is a classic case of “you get what you pay for.” Don’t waste your pennies on this one! Sorry to be so negative, but this was a major let down.

7 thoughts on “Essence Gel-Look Top Coat Review

  1. I was wondering about this one! i saw it in store but did NOT like their top coat i bought a while back. Sucks they haven’t improved their quality.

  2. We don’t get Essence in the UK but I have noted a few gel top coats seem to retain a constantly ‘tacky’ feeling to them. One of the best ones I have tried is by Collection from Boots.

    Also, love the little cat feet in your picture!

Leave a Reply

